Posted by: Sally Ingraham | December 31, 2009

Paging Mrs. Dalloway

Woolf in Winter It begins tomorrow. The excitement has been building for several months already, and the list of interested participants is long. All around the world people are digging out their tattered copies, or smoothing the covers of brand new books with eager anticipation. Perhaps they’ve already slipped between the pages of Mrs. Dalloway, unable to resist.

The official start of Woolf in Winter is January 1st, and the conversation commences on the 15th. Meet me back here for the first round of our 4 part group read. The list that I have gathered thus far is for people who expressed an interest in reading Mrs. Dalloway specifically, or all four books. If I’ve missed anyone let me know! I believe Frances has a more complete list of participants here, and if anyone is hearing of this for the first time there are more details here.

Amanda – NYC Book Girl
Amy – The House of the Seven Tails
Amy – New Century Reading
Andi – Tripping Toward Lucidity
Anthony – Times Flow Stemmed
Bellezza – Dolce Bellezza
Care – Care’s Online Book Club
Christy – Lil Bit Brit Lit
Claire – Kiss a cloud
Ds – third-storey window
Emily – Evening All Afternoon
EL Fay – This Book and I Could Be Friends
Eva – A Striped Armchair
Frances – Nonsuch Book
Jackie – Farmlanebooks Book Blog
Jason – Moored at Sea
Jess – Upward, Onward, Ho!
JoAnn – Lakeside Musing
J. S. Payton – BiblioAddict
Julia – A Number of Things
Karen – BookBath
Kaye – Kaye’s Book Review Page
Lena – Save Ophelia
Lindsey – Sparks’ Notes
Lu – Regular Rumination
Mark David – Absorbed in Words
Melissa – Must Read Faster
Melissa – The Betty and Boo Chronicles
Mihaela – Atelier
Nadia – A Bookish Way of Life
Nicole – bibliographing
Nina – J’adorehappyendings
Percival – Percival’s Blog
Paula – Blogging Woolf
Rebecca – Rebecca Reads
Richard – Caravana de recuerdos
Sandra – Fresh Ink Books
Sandy – You’ve GOTTA read this!
Simon – Savidge Reads
Sissy – A Strange and Beautiful World
Tiina – A Book Blog of One’s Own
uncertainprinciples – another cookie crumbles
Vasilly – 1330v
Victoria – Views from the Page and the Oven
Violet – Still Life With Books


Responses

  1. This is a great list of bloggers, Sarah! Reading Virginia Woolf is a nice way to start 2010. I’m looking forward to reading everyone’s thoughts about Mrs Dalloway. Have a Happy New Year!

  2. I am going to spend my new years day starting Mrs Dalloway – really looking forward to it.

  3. Amy – Thanks, and a Happy New Year to you too! Mrs. Dalloway should be fun. 🙂

    Karen – Sounds like a great plan!

  4. It is 2 AM here, and as soon as blogging is all done. I plan on starting. 😛 What can I say? I’m super excited!

  5. Lena – Happy New Year! Hope the book proved to be a fine way to start 2010. 🙂

  6. I would like to join Woolf in Winter Read. Starting with Mrs Dalloway. Please add me to the list.

    Thank you.

    Christy

    Lil Bit Brit Lit

  7. Christy – The more the merrier! Your name’s on the list – thanks for joining us. 🙂

  8. That is an impressive list of bloggers! I look forward to sharing my thoughts on Woolf with you all soon.

  9. Jackie – The list is exciting, isn’t it! Should be a great conversation.

  10. I had no idea there was that many people! Looks like I’ll be discovering a lot of new blogs.

  11. Hi. I’ve started a new book blog, so can you please change the link on your Woolf list? Thanks. Violet.

  12. Is it still possible for me to join, too?? This looks like a lot of fun. (:

  13. EL Fay – I know, my Google Reader is getting more and more full!!

    Violet – Thanks for the update. I’ll fix the link.

    Sissy – Of course you can still join, and I’m glad that you are interested. Lots of fun, indeed. 🙂

  14. I am totally blown away by the number of participants! So exciting (and a little overwhelming). Yay!

  15. I started Mrs. Dalloway. Not sure what I think yet! I’m hoping that maybe if I start over it will go better…

  16. Rebecca – Oh I hope it DOES go better for you! But I guess Woolf isn’t for everyone, and there’s nothing to be ashamed of if you don’t like her. But I hope you do!! 🙂

    Emily – “Overwhelmed” is a good word for it, but I do like “exciting” better. I would never have guess this would be such a popular group reading event!

  17. […] time in 2006, pre-blogging days, and I’m delighted to be rereading it as the first part of Woolf in Winter. There’s a really good group of bloggers planning to join in on the discussion, and I’m […]

  18. Okay, I guess it’s time to remove Mrs. Dalloway from my TBR pile! I’ll join in at least for the first book, and we’ll see if I like Woolf enough to continue on!

  19. I think I’m going to play too, for Mrs. Dalloway at least. Never read Woolf before so I’ll have to see what I think of that first.

  20. Oh I just read this post today and would LOVE to join in if it’s not too late. I’ve never read Woolf and would love to.

    Thanks!!

  21. Lindsey – Sounds like an excellent plan!

    Nicole – Thanks for playing! Hope it’s fun for you. 🙂

    Amanda – Of course you can still join – Mrs. Dalloway is short, so I’m taking names right up until the 15th!

  22. I would like to take part in reading Mrs. Dalloway as well as the other three books, if you will have me that is! What a wonderful project. Thanks!

  23. Sarah, I have a silly question. Do we need to post about Mrs. Dalloway on the 15th? Or is the discussion going to take place on your blog in the comments?

  24. Jess – Sounds great. I’ll add you to the list!

    Eva – I was planning to post my thoughts on the 15th and then gather links to the posts of other participants. As of right now I don’t have a “discussion” planned, although that seems like a good way to get the conversation really going in one place. I’ll check with my fellow hosts and see what they were thinking. Thanks for checking – I’ll get back to you (and everyone else!) on that. 🙂

  25. Being co-host of a read-a-long myself, and drawing the first book, I TOTALLY get not being positive about the format. 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories